What I Ate Raw Vegan, Early Spring 2013

bananas

bananas (Photo credit: Fernando Stankuns)

As you can see…the last few weeks I haven’t written anything.  I’ve been much higher on the fruity spectrum and it becomes more difficult for me during those times to want to write about what I’m doing.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it’s the blog format.

Anyway, I’m just going to let you know what I’ve been eating this week and how I’ve been feeling. The past couple weeks, I think I had salt maybe 1 or 2 days.  So I’m eating much less salt than usual.  Which is a great thing.

I’ve been eating really simple for the most part and I’ve been eating mostly mono-meals and mostly, like even more than usual…raw.   I may have had potatoes or cooked veggies for about a week, during the past 3 weeks.  I also had some cashew butter recently.

I am low on fruit right now and I am trying to stick to a budget, since I spent a lot this month already. (I bought a lot of nuts which I don’t usually do)  I’m just speculating about what I’ve eaten because I haven’t really recorded all this, but since I’ve eaten really simply.  It’s pretty easy to remember.

Sunkist oranges, bananas, pears, apples, and a...

Sunkist oranges, bananas, pears, apples, and a watermelon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sunday: bananas all day, probably a little over 20…haven’t had a huge appetite

Monday: bananas all day; salad at night…ditto

Tuesday: bananas for breakfast & lunch(approx. 18), grapefruit/cucumber/tomato salad, cucumber w/ cashew butter

Wednesday: bananas for breakfast & lunch, soup: cooked broccoli, zucchini, carrots, sweet potato

Thursday: bananas/pineapple, grapefruit/cucumber/pineapple salad, cucumber/cashew butter

Friday: banana/strawberry icecream, salad w/ beets, spinach, who knows what else, salsa & raw vegan hummus w/ zucchini chips

My kids don’t exactly eat what I eat.  They snack on or eat a lot more nuts/seeds than I do.  I actually don’t eat nuts at all. They also require shnazzy exciting meals sometimes, if it was just me, I’d be on some fruit island all the time.

They also prefer to eat potatoes for dinner most nights, because in our house, there are much worse cooked food scents buzzing around, so I give them cooked potatoes or sweet potatoes most nights.  Things have changed a lot this week though, I haven’t really needed to make breakfast or lunch for them.  They’ve been mostly feeding themselves with bananas, apples, kiwis, citrus, dried fruit- and nuts/seeds.

English: Different potato varieties. – The pot...

English: Different potato varieties. – The potato is the vegetable of choice in the United States. On average, Americans devour about 65 kg of them per year. New potato releases by ARS scientists give us even more choices of potatoes to eat. Deutsch: Verschiedene Kartoffelsorten (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My nose was snotty and I was sneezing a lot on Sunday and Monday I think.  Now I am a tiny bit sniffly.  I think it is from decreasing my salt to zero, but I can’t be sure.  It doesn’t matter…I feel fine.

I did have a slight fever for a very brief period one night.  But I went to sleep and I was fine the next day.  So all in all this is a pretty satisfying way to eat although I tend to love the way I feel a little more without salt and with more fruit and less cooked stuff…also more juicy fruits usually equals more fun…but again, overall, I’m satisfied.

Categories: Fruit-Centric Living | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What I Ate Raw Vegan, Early Spring 2013

  1. Thank you for visiting and liking my blog post. I enjoyed reading your meal list above. It gave me the “hungries” for some fruit. Maybe later. I think I’ll jus go dig into the salad I just made. Check you out again.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

